Interview of the day - Karin Knapp

13 September 2014

Third seeded Karen Knapp of Italy  played superlative tennis to down top seeded Bojana Jovanovski of Serbia  to  lift the title at the 16th edition of the Tashkent Open WTA tennis Championships.

In the finals the world ranked 71 Karin Knapp of Italy managed to keep up the tradition of Tashkent Open throwing up new champions intact dethroning  world ranked 36 and top seed Jovanovski 6-2,7-6(4) win in just 1 hours 41 minutes , Karin  got top prize of $43000    apart from  280 WTA points, The 27 year old Knapp who appeared in her second career final and first since she lost to Justine Henin at Antwerp six year ago, broke her jinx finally to claim the crown and avenge her loss to the 22year old Jovanovski whom she had lost at Madrid in their lone previous meeting.


Congrats on Great win?

Knapp : "  I can't say how happy I am , I have had five surgeries , so many months of lay offs in the last six years , but I knew it is possible for me to win an WTA event. I was playing good the entire week and  thought I will do well even joked with my coaches that we will be staying long in Tashkent this week. 

Were you  feeling jittery after Bojana came back from being 2-4 down ?

" I felt a little stressed after the scores were 4-4 after I led 4-2 initially , but I decided to be mentally tough and went for my strokes.

It has been a tough journey for you ?

Yes , I have been in and out of tennis the last 2 years have been bad due to knee problems , but I have new trainer and feeling much more fitter and enjoying my time on the court. I was always playing good tennis in practise, but could not put it in the matches.

Your impressions on the event ?

Its a great place not because  I won , I have entered the event thrice before so that means I like the event. I'm very happy to have got the National dress as the present and its something different. I will treasure my memory of a win here.

Kirsten
Flipkens

Date of Birth: 10 Jan 1986
Birthplace: Geel, Belgium
Height: 5’ 5" (1.65 m)
Plays: Right-handed
WTA Singles Ranking – 72 (As of August 14, 2017)



free counters

Интервью дня – Карин Кнапп

13 сентября 2014

Третья сеянная из Италии Карин Кнапп сыграла в превосходный теннис против первой сеянной турнира Бояны Йовановски из Сербии, тем самым завоевав титул победителя Tashkent Open 2014. Карин Кнапп (71) продолжила традицию турнира, заключающийся в том , что  ещё никому ни раз не удавалось завоевать титул победителя дважды. В финале Карин обыграла Йовановски (36) со счётом 6/2, 7/6(4) всего за 1 час 41 минуту. Карин получила приз в размере 43 000 USD, а также 280 WTA очков. 27-летняя Кнапп выиграла второй в своей карьере финал, и первый с тех пор как она последний раз проиграла Жустин Энин в Антверпене шесть лет назад. Она взяла реванш у 22-летней Йовановски, кому она проиграла в Мадриде два года назад.

Поздравляем с великой победой…

Я не могу выразить словами насколько я счастлива. После ряда операций многих месяцев перерыва за последние шесть лет, я знала, что для меня всё равно возможно выиграть WTA турнир. Я играла очень хорошо всю неделю, и даже шутила со своими наставниками, что мы в Ташкенте останемся надолго на этой неделе.

Почувствовали ли Вы некую тревогу после того как Бояна повернула счёт с свою сторону 2/4?

Я немного занервничала, когда счёт стал 4/4, в то время как я вела со счётом 4/2, но я решила быть эмоционально сильной и пошла в бой.

Для Вас этот путь был не из лёгких…

Да, за последние два года были взлёты и падения из-за проблем с моим коленом, но сейчас у меня новый тренер и я чувствую себя намного лучше и наслаждаюсь своей игрой.

Ваши впечатления о турнире…

Это прекрасное место, не только потому, что я выиграла. Я принимала участие в данном турнире три раза подряд, что подтверждает то что мне нравится данный турнир. Я очень рада, что я получила национальный халат в качестве подарка. Он очень необычный. Я буду всегда помнить о своей победе здесь.