Interview of the day – Akgul Amanmuradova

24 September 2009

By Sunder Iyer
On behalf of the Tashkent Open Media Team

Uzbekistan’s top player Akgul Amanmuradova did not let down her fans , reaching the last of the Tashkent Open. Coming through a third set tiebreak win lasting 2 hrs 40 mins against Ekaterina Bychkova , she spoke to the media team.

Congratulations, How does it feel, winning today winning a close encounter on your home turf ?
Akgul :
Today is a big day for me to win here in Tashkent , my home town. I’m thrilled to have taken revenge over Byckova who had defeated me in France a few weeks back. Had I won the match I would have quailifed for the US Open,
But it is sweet victory and worked very hard today for the win.

Probably this was the longest match you’ve ever played in Tashkent in the last eight years?
Akgul:
Smiles, I Think Bychkova is a very good player and she deserves all praise for her performance today. The way she has being playing it is solid, she’s a fighter and I had to really fight hard for a win. I’m happy to have won such a long match. The other thing is that this win is going to give me a lot of confidence about my game.

You played patchy tennis, being on top at one moment and then hitting the bottom almost instantly ?
Akgul :
Frankly the whole of the year I’ve been playing patchy tennis, it’s not only this match. Earlier I used to be playing 2 meters behind the baseline. But my coach has been asking me to be more aggressive and move on to the net.

You see I’m not to young to adapt immediately, and this takes time, also I’ve not had time to stop and work on the game, but all the practice takes place during matches and the spare time. So I have to keep trying in matches and that’s when mistakes occur.

I’m happy that the changes are working and are surely positive and helping my game better. I’m more aggressive now and even today my aggression helped me to win important points, which tilted the advantage to my favour.

What are other things you’re working on?
Akgul :
I have to work on my focus, today on the circuit everyone is the same player , standards are same , but the mentally stronger players achieve more . I’m improving my mental toughness.

You have lost your singles rankings, but your doubles rankings have improved?
Akgul:
Yes I’m having my best doubles ranking of my career, Like I said I’m working on a new game and this is perfect for doubles, and the results are also showing and so are my rankings in doubles .

What are you’re goals short term and long term?
Akgul:
To do well at this Tournament is my first priority. Then we have few challengers and the Kremlin Cup. The idea is to stop playing tournaments in November so we will have enough time to practice and start the New Year on bright note at the Australian Open.

The long term is to improve my best singles ranking, by early next year. We took a break and worked on the game, I’m sure that the remaining year will see me back on track.

It was great to watch so many people come to watch you play today and cheer for you?
Akgul:
It’s a good so many people came to watch the match on their own, The crowd support helped me morally and I’m surely not going to let them down . Also for the youngsters watching there was a lesson” If one keeps fighting results will come”


Any thoughts about the next match ?

Akgul :
Every match and opponent is tough , next I’m playing Voegele , she’s smart player and has a solid game . I’ll have to stay focused, I’ve a slight advantage as I have won our earlier encounter , But I’m giving it all
for sure.

Johanna
Larsson

Date of Birth: 17 Aug 1988
Birthplace: Boden, Sweden
Height: 5’ 9" (1.74 m)
Plays: Right-handed
WTA Singles Ranking – 55 (As of August 14, 2017)



free counters

Интервью дня – Акгуль Аманмурадова

24 сентября 2009

Sunder Iyer

Лучший игрок Узбекистана Акгул Амэнмерэдова не подвела своих поклонников. Пройдя через трех сетовый путь, выиграла игру которая длилась 2 часа 40 минут, против Екатерины Бычковой, после она пообщалась со СМИ.

Поздравления, Как ощущения, сегодняшняя победа, выиграв в упорно борьбе на Вашем домашнем корте?
Akgul: Сегодня большой день для меня, победить здесь в Ташкенте, моем родном городе. Я очень хотела взять реванш у Биковой, которая победила меня во Франции несколько недель назад. Если бы я выиграла тот матч, я была бы в основе US open.

Но это – приятная победа и я работала очень много сегодня для того чтобы победить.

Вероятно это было самый длинный матч, который Вы когда-либо играли в Ташкенте за все восемь лет?
Akgul: Улыбается, я Думаю, что Бычкова - очень хороший игрок, и она заслуживает похвалы за свою работу сегодня. Она борец и я должна была действительно бороться изо всех сил ради победы. Я счастлива выиграть такой длинный матч. Другая вещь - то, что эта победа придает мне больше уверенности на корте.

Вы играли в непостоянный теннис, то находясь на высоте на каком-то отрезке, то внезапно делая ошибку?
Akgul: откровенно весь год, я играю в непостоянный теннис, это не только это в этом матче. Ранее я играла 2 метра до задней линии. Но мой тренер попросил, чтобы я была более агрессивной и двигалась больше к сетке.

Вы видите, что я не в том возрасте , чтобы медленно приспособиться, а это занимает время, а у меня нет столько времени для приспособления. Таким образом я должна продолжать пробовать постоянно в каждой игре импровизировать, отсюда следуют ошибки.

Я счастлива, что изменения работают и конечно положительно отражаются на моей игре, делают ее лучше. Я более агрессивная теперь, и даже сегодня моя агрессия помогла мне выиграть важные очки, которые дали мне преимущество.

Над чем еще вы продолжаете работать?
Akgul: я должна работать над концентрацией, целый год мы играем практически с одними и теми же игроками, уровень у игроков практически одинаковый, и поэтому выигрывает тот кто сильнее психологически. Я работаю над усилением психологического настроя.

Вы потеряли рейтинг в одиночном разряде, но Ваш рейтинг в парном разряде улучшился?
Akgul: Да у меня есть улучшение, сечас мой рейнтинг лучший в карьере, Как я говорила, я над своей новой игрой, и это прекрасно для парных матчей, и результаты в парном разряде так же говорят сами за себя.

Каковы ваши краткосрочные и долгосрочные цели?
Akgul: Выступить хорошо на этом турнире - мой приоритет. Потом планирую играть на нескольких турнирах серии «Challenger» и Кубок Кремля. Планирую прекрать играть турниры в ноябре, таким образом у нас будет достаточно времени, чтобы тренироваться и начать Новый сезон на яркой ноте c Australia Open.

Нужно время чтобы улучшить свой рейтинг, в начале нового сезона. Мы брали паузу и работали над моей игрой. Думаю что в начале нового сезона я буду в хорошей форме.

Было замечательно видеть, что очень много людей приезжают, чтобы посмотреть, на вашу игру сегодня ?

Akgul: Это пошло мне на пользу, очень много людей приехали, чтобы посмотреть матч, поддержка толпы помогла мне нравственно, и я конечно не собираюсь подводить их. Также для молодежи, наблюдающей был урок ”Если Вы будете продолжать бороться, то результаты прибудут”


Какие-нибудь мысли о следующем матче?

Akgul: Каждый матч и противник сильные, я играю с Voegele, она - умный игрок и имеет постоянную игру. Я должна буду быть очень сосредоточенной, у меня есть небольшое преимущество, поскольку я выиграла наше более раннюю встречу.