Interview of the day - MONICA NICULESCU

21 September 2010

Romanian player Monica Niculescu is a colourful figure on and off the tennis court, her unorthodox style of play on the tennis courts has left many amazed, one of the few regulars at Tashkent Open , Ranked 81 in the world and seeded fifth here Monica spoke to the media team after she managed to overcome youngster Zarina Diyas in a close match.

Excerpts from the Interview
By Sunder Iyer /Micky Aigner
Tashkent Open Media Team.


Q: Your thoughts on today’s match, did you expect qualifier Zarina Diyas to be a tough opponent?
I always knew that she was playing very good know she is young. I did see her about a year ago when at Prague she reached the quarterfinals by beating some good players which includingPetra Kivitova, a Wimbledon semifinalist this year. I did not expect her to play so good.

Q: You were sailing comfortably and suddenly lost your way, You seemed to be getting tense in both the second and third set?
I had my chances, and also committed a few mistakes as well. Like the second set when I lost momentum when I was up 2-1 (40-0). Instead of making it 3-1, it became 2-2. I lost my concentration at that point and found it hard to regroup. Then in the tie-breaker too, I was up 5-3, 6-4 but then she was playing well and thus I fell back eventually. In the third set, I was pushing hard and out all energy to finish off after opening a 4-0 advantage. I guess I did too much and thus she came back. So I am happy that I won and hope to forget what happened and do well in the next round.

Q: So is it like a wake-up call for you and How would you rate your opponent today?
Yes sort of since the US Open I did not play much and was relaxed, until I came into Tashkent on Thursday and began preparing, I feel better and in rhythm after the match.
She is young and is going to be a great player and I am sure she has it to be in the Top-100 for sure if she is free from injuries. She has a good first serve, which I must say was very good during the second set and good ground strokes as well.

Q: What do you feel are her strength?
Her first serve was very good, particularly she served very well in the second set. I felt her return was equally good which at times I felt was quite strong when I played the ball back to her at shoulder level, but when I mixed the strokes she was uncomfortable. She also moves very well on court.

Q: Any thoughts about your next match with Ekatrina Ivanova ?
Firstly, I hope the blisters I have on my hand don’t affect me much. I have played her (Ekaterina) before on clay and lost, these are hard courts and I hope to take revenge.

Q: You have been here before , your thoughts about the growing popularity of Tashkent Open ?
I enjoy coming here because it is truly a very nice tournament , the people the organisation ,everything is perfect. The newly laid courts are very good , and I like it. I’m impressed with how the city is getting more beautiful, especially the beautiful musical fountain right opposite the hotel, I would love to play here again. and do well in the event .

Irina-Camelia
Begu

Date of Birth: 26 Aug 1990
Birthplace: Bucharest, Romania
Height: 5’ 11" (1.81 m)
Plays: RIght-handed
WTA Singles Ranking – 58 (As of August 14, 2017)



free counters

Интервью дня с Моникой Никулеску

21 сентября 2010

Румынская теннисистка – Моника Никулеску, яркая фигура на теннисном корте. Ее неординарный стиль игры оставил многих под большим впечатлением. Частый участник Tashkent Open, с мировым рейтингом 81, пятая сеянная Моника рассказала команде медиа центра о том как она смогла одержать победу над Зариной Дияз.

Подготовлено Сундером Айр и Микки Агнером.
Команда медиа центра Tashkent Open.


В: Ваши впечатления о сегодняшнем матче, ожидали ли вы, что Зарина Дияз будет сильным противником?
О: Я всегда знала, что Зарина играет очень хорошо. Я видела ее год назад в Праге, когда она дошла до четвертьфинала, одержав победу над хорошими игроками, такими как: Петра Кивитова - полуфиналистка Уимблдона этого года. Я не ожидала, что она будет играть так хорошо.

В: Ты хорошо держала игру, но вдруг потеряла ритм. Казалось, что ты играешь напряженно во втором и третьем сетах.
О: У меня был шанс, но я допустила несколько ошибок. Например во втором сете я немного растерялась. Когда я вела 2-1(40-0) вместо того, чтобы сделать 3-1, счет сравнялся 2-2. Я потеряла внимание и мне было сложно сосредоточиться снова. Затем на tie break счет был 5-3 в мою пользу, далее он стал 6-4 и Дияз, соответственно одержала победу в этом сете. В третьем сете я приложила всю свою энергию и усилия, чтобы завершить игру в свою пользу. Поэтому я рада, что выиграла и надеюсь забыть свою растерянность и тем самым победить в следующем круге.

В: Является ли сегодняшний матч стартовым для вас?
О: Да, в какой-то степени. После US Open я не играла и потеряла форму. Прилетела в Ташкент я в четверг и начала готовиться к соревнованиям.

В: Как вы оцениваете свою сегодняшнюю соперницу?
О: Она юна и я думаю, что ее ждет великое будущее, если, конечно, у нее не будет серьезным травм. Я уверенна, что она попадет в сотню лучших. У нее очень хорошая подача. Она очень помогла ей во втором сете.

В: В чем, по-вашему, ее сила?
О: Ее первая подача была очень хорошей, особенно во втором сете. Я чувствовала, что ее ответы на мои удары были равносильны моим. Игра ее была сильной и я начала смешивать свои удары, тем самым почувствовав, что ей становится трудным отбивать их. Хотя двигается на корте Зарина очень хорошо.

В: Что вы думаете о вашем следующем матче с Екатериной Ивановаой?
О: Во-первых, я надеюсь, что мои мозоли на руках не помешают мне. Я уже играла против Екатерины, но проиграла. И вот теперь надеюсь взять реванш.

В: Вы были здесь раньше. Каковы ваши впечатления о растущей популярности Tashkent Open?
О: Мне нравится приезжать сюда, потому что это действительно прекрасный турнир. Новые корты очень хорошие, они мне очень понравились. Я под большим впечатлением от города, особенно от красивого музыкального фонтана, который находится прямо напротив нашей гостиницы. Я бы хотела еще раз сюда приехать!